The League of Canadian Poets is now accepting submissions for our annual book awards for titles published in 2009!

The Pat Lowther Memorial Award is given for a book of poetry by a Canadian woman published in the preceding year, and is in memory of the late Pat Lowther, whose career was cut short by her untimely death in 1975.

The Gerald Lampert Memorial Award is given in the memory of Gerald Lampert, an arts administrator who organized authors’ tours and took a particular interest in the work of new writers. The award recognizes the best first book of poetry published by a Canadian in the preceding year.

Both awards carry a $1,000 prize, and are presented each year at the annual LCP Poetry Festival and Conference in June, with the shortlist announced during National Poetry Month in April


The deadline for submission to these awards is November 1st, 2009For books that are published after this date, but still within the calendar year, please e-mail me ( by  Nov 1st, 2009 to arrange to have the deadline extended (to Dec 15th at the latest). If you are a League member, please contact your publisher to see if your title has been submitted before sending it in yourself to avoid duplication.

For more information on these awards, and to download a submission form, please go to:

Ingel Madrus
Programs & Promotions Manager
The League of Canadian Poets
920 Yonge Street, Suite 608
Toronto, ON M4W 3C7
Phone: 416-504-1657 / Fax: 416-504-0096

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s