2009 Island Literary Awards

The  P.E.I .Writers’ Guild is pleased to announce that the 22nd Annual Island Literary Awards, with cash prizes for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place winners, is now calling for submissions in the following categories: the Lucy Maud Montgomery** P.E.I. Literature for Children Award, which offers prizes for stories written for children ages five through twelve years;  the Milton Acorn Poetry Award for submissions of 8 to 10 pages of poetry;  the Short Story Award for fiction under 2500 words;  and the Creative Nonfiction Award for short pieces of humour writing, memoir, biography, essay, travel writing or feature articles.   
As well, the Student Awards, including the Aliant Creative Writing Awards for Young People and the Department of Education Young Writer’s Award will continue to offer the opportunity for Island youth to explore their creativity with the written word.  Students from Early Elementary to Senior High are invited to submit their works of poetry or short fiction either directly or through their schools. 
Deadline for all submissions is 4 p.m. Friday, May 1, 2009.  Entry guidelines, including rules, eligibility, prizes, format and fees will be posted soon on this website and can be found presently at http://www.peica.ca   
Schools will also be contacted directly with all relevant information. 
Direct inquiries may be sent to Laurel Smyth, 2009 Coordinator, islandliteraryawards@gmail.com      

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s